Food this week at HH Headquarters is:

Breakfast:

– an adaptation of the Quick Banana Berry Breakfast To Go from Eat to Live by Joel Fuhrman. We eat this often, sometimes for several weeks in a row. So much for my claim that I change the menu often. K usually takes care of day-of preparations so she generally makes this, but I think our modifications are- cranberry juice instead of pomegranate (pomegranate juice is spendy!), add water, cook longer but don’t cook the bananas…

– sliced tofu pan fried with a tablespoon or so of barbecue sauce.

Lunch

– Cucumber subs with tuna salad. Thanks to Pinterest, I stumbled over others’ idea to use cucumbers in lieu of sandwich bread. Peel cucumber, slice in half both ways. Remove guts. Put in container. Way cheaper than gluten free bread or crackers. I am not normally a cucumber peeler, but K will actually eat them that way and gut removal makes room for fillings.

– Blueberry-Orange Scones- the recipe says it makes 8, I cut them into 14 so they are essentially miniaturized.

– Mixed fruit- grapes, sliced nectarine, plum, orange, cantaloupe.

Supper

– Salad in a jar. Pinterest strikes again. It is absolutely true- if you layer your dressing on the bottom and your lettuce on the top with something to separate them, your salad stays good for about a week in a lidded jar. This week, K’s salad has kidney beans and a balsamic vinaigrette, mine has this raspberry dressing I’m kind of in love with black olives and pickled beets.

Dinner

– French Onion Soup. Not going to lie, this is amazing. French onion soup generally calls for beef broth so I’ve always avoided making it. I usually don’t hesitate in a veggie broth substitution, but this just seemed like it might be an exception. Maybe it still would be to a connoisseur, but this soup has been a big hit with us. Instead of the bread French onion soup is traditionally topped with, this recipe called for a potato patty made from mashed potatoes and a little bit of cornstarch. Topped with a mix of Jarlsburg and Gruyere.

Both the scone and soup recipes came from

My biggest complaint about this book is that it’s branded- most recipes call for at least one ingredient that is branded, ie. a specific brand of gluten-free all-purpose flour mix. Since I’m cooking out of actual ingredients- tapioca, rice, amaranth, quinoa flours, guar/ xanthan gum, I don’t know what their brand contains. I threw in a little of this and a little of that. They came out okay, but it’s not all that helpful as far as gluten-free cookbooks go.

