Tags

, , ,

This little gadget is intended to hold cooling racks, but it’s proved far more multi-purpose- it holds baking sheets out of the way, and I stumbled on another use this weekend. It will hold my cookbooks open to their pages as I’m working on various recipes. As Sunday usually finds me working on several recipes from two or more sources at a time, this really helped keep the kitchen table clear for food prep!

The menu this week at HH Headquarters is:

Breakfast

– Breakfast Taquitos with salsa- My own invention. Recipe to follow.

– Mixed fruit- watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew

Lunch

– Cucumber subs with Curried Eggless Salad from 1000 Vegan Recipes by Robin Robertson. I modified the recipe- only added about half the chutney called for and half the mustard, but I don’t much care for this anyhow. It’s still too sweet for me. I have yet to hear back about what K thinks of it

– Fruit salad- not so much a salad as finely chopped nectarines, plums, oranges, watermelon, and a couple strawberries tossed with a few tablespoons of pineapple juice.

Supper

– Salad in a jar. This week, we’ve both got quinoa and two bunches of radishes split among the 12 jars. Plus beets for me… it’s a rough life, not having to share my pickled beets!

Dinner

– Lentil Sloppy Joes on Dinner Rolls, both recipes from Nicole Hunn’s Gluten-Free on a Shoestring. As my wife was recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I have about a dozen gluten-free cookbooks out from the library. Each week I’m trying to test out a recipe or two to decide which books I’d like to purchase as permanent additions to our cookbook shelf.

The dinner roll recipe was pretty good- a little flat tasting, but that can be handled by a different assortment of flours next time. The sloppy joe recipe is a mixed bag- excellent, in that it’s a great idea to sub in a mix of lentils and rice for the traditional meat. It’s got great bones. However, I made a doubled recipe which the book suggested would be about 8 servings. My guess based on ingredient quantities was that it would be plenty for 14 servings. It made closer to 16 for the size meal we usually have for dinner. Also, the doubled recipe called for a total of 1 1/3 cups brown sugar. Whoa. I put in just the first half, added a teaspoon each of cayenne and black pepper to try to cut the sweet. That worked and added a little kick, but I think 1/4 cup of brown sugar would be more than enough next time. K suggested a adding a little molasses, which sounds good, and I think a hint of liquid smoke might give it a nice barbecue flavor.

