Tags

, , , , , , ,

Bugs have descended into our apartment like a plague.

Or at least it feels that way. In reality there have been four, but we’re talking 1.5 – 2″ beetle-lookin’ things that I would swear just stare at me while they rub their creepy little legs at me. Three of the four have been found on my pillow or head, so I get to say insulting things about them. Turns out stinkbugs are attracted to things that smell fruity and/or sweet. You know, like my hair products? Two nights in a row of three hours of sleep means I almost don’t have enough mental presence left to blog. Certainly not enough for photographs. The hacks K has used to try to deal with this include

  • Sealing off doors/ windows. Turns out about half of our windows have gaps big enough for a small army of giant bugs to march through.
  • Homemade trap from a google search- she cut the top off a two liter bottle, removed the lid, and put it on so the top became concave. Then she put a couple inches of water and a little soap inside, taped an LED light to the bottom and lined the outside with packaging tape- sticky side out so things could crawl up. Three days later, it hasn’t caught anything.
  • Rubbing fabric softener around doors/ windows. We don’t normally even buy detergent (I make it), so I certainly don’t buy fabric softener ever. Waking up screaming to the smell of a stinkbug at my head made me desperate, what can I say.

But about the menu…

Breakfast- Egyptian Breakfast Beans from Forks over Knives. First, this calls for dried fava beans. I was absolutely certain I’d seen those in bulk (read: affordable) at WinCo, which was one of the big reasons I picked this. Nowhere to be found. Called a couple places, found them for $7.99 per 20 oz bag. I needed three pounds. $20 dollars for breakfast beans? I don’t think so. Instead, we got giant lima beans. At this point, my expectations had really tanked. For as long as I can remember, I have hated lima beans. When I was a kid, I used to pick them out of my cooked frozen vegetables and eat them first so I could get it over with as soon as possible. Anyhow, the dish isn’t awful. Bland maybe, but tolerable. Less tolerable? For no discernable reason, it makes us both sick. I think I just found an awesome reason to not have to eat lima beans again!

Lunch- Apple Crisp. Yep, dessert. It’s solving two problems- one, I was having trouble fitting fruit in easily to our menu. Fresh fruit is super, but seasonally affordable fruit (citrus, apples, pears) is time consuming (apples) or messy (citrus, pears) and therefore unsuitable for work. Problem two- while I split my own food into lunch and summer, on days K works at the hospital she only dependably has time to eat on her lunch. Two actual meals were getting to be too much. Dessert for lunch. I make sacrifices, what can I say.

Supper- Vegetables steamed with 1/4 cup brown rice and curry sauce. Easy peasy. Try this: Heat a can of coconut milk & the same amount of water in a pot with a couple tablespoons of curry, half teaspoon of cayenne, and a teaspoon of salt. Toss in vegetables (we’re having cauliflower, broccoli, kale, and carrots). Steam. Veggies come out all curry scented. The 2 1/2 cup containers were still only half full so I steamed some brown rice and topped it all with some curry sauce from the Native Foods Restaurant Cookbook. I don’t love this sauce, K does.

Dinner- Don’t-Have-The-Ingredients-I-Thought-I-Did Frittata. Thought I had canned artichokes, which I did, but only one can. Perfectly suitable substitute? Boil one cup wild rice in two cups hot water for 45 minutes. Saute two onions in a little olive oil or water. Add one large head chopped broccoli, cook until green turns bright green.  Mix everything together with 14 eggs, a hunk of parmesan, and a big splash of milk. Cook at 350 for 30 minutes. Ish.

And now, back to to trying to catch up on my sleep….

